“I’m for truth”

12 Apr

Quote for Daily Reflection

“I’m for truth, no matter who tells it. I’m for justice, no matter who it is for or against. I’m a human being, first and foremost, and as such I’m for whoever and whatever benefits humanity as a whole.” ~  Malcolm X

This Malcolm X quote really challenged my previous thoughts which consisted of the fact that there always seems to be an “absolute right” and an “absolute wrong.” After thinking more deeply what about this quote, I can see that this is not the case.  People can see things differently. We are raised in different environments and with different experiences. To achieve truth and justice, we need to ask ourselves what will create a brighter future for all. The goal of youth should be to discuss their thoughts and ideas with each other, no matter how different. After being involved with Anytown for a few years, I discovered that no two people are the same and there will always be different opinions. However, at Camp, even though everyone was different, we were still able to come to conclusions that benefitted the entire group.

Differences are what makes every person unique and what makes them who they are. Everyone should be accepting of these things and come to a conclusion that can benefit everyone. We are here to make the world better for all of us, rather than some of us. I think that the best thing that youth can do is agree to disagree. What we need to do is accept each other for who we are, and when that happens we can benefit humanity as a whole, as Malcolm X said.

By Edwin K. Rodriquez

2 Responses to ““I’m for truth””

  1. Liana February 20, 2013 at 4:48 AM #

    it, other people tugohht it was ok for them to do it as well and it kept going on. I’ve been picked on for about three years now. People might say that that’s not bad, try being bullied your whole life. But it doesn’t matter how long you’ve been bullied, it’s the fact that you are being bullied. I told a teacher the first year and they got the girl’s parents in to talk to them saying that she had been picking on me and she started to completely ignore me, but now she only says stuff about once every two weeks. Ever since that I have been picked on. I have a friend at school. We go around together and have lunch together, just us two. But when were with other people she won’t let me talk to them and twice before she picked on me. I couldn’t believe it because I tugohht she was my friend. She won’t really let me have other friends. I can’t confront her though because she knows secrets about me, and when she fell out with one of her other friends she went around telling everyone her secrets, and I don’t want that to happen to me. I know secrets about her and people say if she does that to you then do that to her, but won’t that make me just as bad as her? I know this might sound stupid, but I’ve been keeping a record since the beginning of November of all the times I’ve been bullied and everyday since the beginning of November (excluding the weekends) I’ve been bullied. I don’t have anyone to talk to because I don’t trust anyone. I can’t tell my parents because they will just make it worse and I don’t want that. I’m not telling a teacher again because that makes it worse as well, everyone just looks at me as the snitch. I got to the point were I tugohht about commiting suicide about two weeks ago, and I would have done it if I had the courage to. But now I just can’t take any of it anymore. I’m slowly breaking. I just need someone, a real friend, to talk to. Someone that can help, because at the moment I have no social life and spend all my time in my room because I don’t trust anyone enough to tell them things. What should I do? 😥

  2. gssmvafbso February 21, 2013 at 11:58 PM #

    WvpM5P tuayugioskfz

Tell us what you're thinking...

